Skip to main content

Add or remove other collections to your search:



Narrow your search by:



You've searched: All Collections

  • All fields: 1850
(276 results)



Display: 20

    • 1927-1928 Bloomington City Directory

    • Business enterprises -- Indiana -- Monroe County; Addresses -- Indiana -- Monroe County; Addresses -- Indiana -- Monroe County; Advertisements -- Indiana -- Monroe County; Churches -- Indiana -- Monroe County; Cities and towns -- Indiana -- Monroe...
    • A List of Inhabitants, Their Residence and Occupation, A Classified Commercial Directory, A Complete Directory of Householders Arranged by Streets and Consecutive Numbers on Houses; A complete record of churches, schools, secret and benevolent...
    • 2. 417 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • The home is one of the earlier ones in Jeffersonville, built after the 1832 flood. In the front there are two stories with a single story to the rear. The house sits up a level from the street, separated by a low stone retaining wall and four...
    • 25. 413 East Market Street

    • Architecture
    • The 1982 photograph shows this two story home as having the front half sided in bricks and the back in wood. There is a side room addition at the rear of the right side of the home. A front porch supported by four columns may have been a later...
    • 33. East High Street

    • Architecture
    • At the most eastern end of High Street, this home is perched on top of a hill. The home has a porch that extends not quite all the way across the face of the building. This porch faces the Ohio River. on the left side it is evident that the...
    • 36. 944 East Chestnut Street

    • Architecture
    • This one story home was the home of Dr. Charles McBride. It was purchased for he and his wife by his father-in-law, Calvin Cook. Calvin Cook was a member of Advent Christian Church. In 1983, Mary Harris was the owner of the home.
    • 4. 409 East Riverside Drive

    • Architecture
    • The original address was Front Street, but the name was changed to Riverside. This home has both a ground floor arched entrance and a main first floor entrance to the left of center. The ground floor is limestone block with the upper two levels...
    • 43. 218 West Chestnut Street

    • Architecture; Education
    • The land was owned by the Croghan family. They were related to George Rogers Clark. Eakins and his company built the home and it was then lived in and owned by Artemis McNaughton. He ran the iron foundary at the Carworks (see image 19....
    • 49. 218 Locust Street

    • Architecture; Education
    • 218 Locust Street is an example of a Greek Revival home. It was built about 1850 for the Holzbog family. He owned a wagon factory which was located across the street from the home. It originally did not have a front porch. in 1983, Harry E. Staton...
    • 73. 409 Spring Street

    • Architecture; Education; Commerce; Commercial streets
    • This building's purpose was far different from that of it's 1982 use as David's Style Shop for women's clothing. This was opened by the Nanz family as the Nanz Saloon. There were many stories told in the Jeffersonville Evening News of the...
    • Chain of Title Sec 11 T16NR1E

    • Brownsburg, Indiana
    • Chain of Title for Section 11 Township 16 N, Range 1 East. Multi page document tracing the title history. Originally owned by John Harris and ending with Parsons as Parsons' addition. Names of importance= George Andrew Johnson, John Harris,...
    • Charlestown Cemetery plat book, Charlestown, Indiana 1903

    • Cemeteries--Indiana--Clark County; Charlestown (Ind.); Plat maps--cemeteries; Graveyards; Burial grounds; Plat books
    • This Charlestown Cemetery Plat book started as a copy created by J. M. Van Hook in 1903 being brought up to date by J. M. Morrow as is stated on page 1 of the book. There is no date given for when it was brought up to date. This was most likely...
    • Depot - Wirt, Indiana

    • Railroads; Train depots; Railroad stations; Wirt (Ind.)
    • Several passengers are seen waiting for locomotive "8404" to pull into the station. Notice the buggy parked behind the depot and the rolls of fencing to the side of the building. The station was once the North Madison depot which served there from...
    • Depot-North Madison

    • Railroads; Railroad stations; Train depots; North Madison
    • This is the North Madison depot that was built about 1850. It was situated to the east of the railroad tracks on the south side of what is now State Road 7 as it makes its curve at the top of Hanging Rock Hill. It was part of the group of buildings...
    • Fairplay Fire Company #1

    • Fire stations
    • The Fairplay Fire Company #1 was founded in 1841. Four years later Joseph Todd and M. A. Gavitt were appointed to write the company's constitution and apply for a charter from the state. In 1846 the city council recognized the Ones, as they were...

QuickView

Display a larger image and more item information when the pointer pauses over a thumbnail
 

Layout options:

Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK
Select the collections to add or remove from your search
A
B
C
D
E
F
G
H
I
J
K
L
M
N
O
P
Q
R
S
T
U
V
W
X
Y
Z
 
OK